Fishy Fish

I tried sardines for the first time today. And OMG are they fishy. I never really understood what someone meant when they said they didn’t like fish because it has to much of a ‘fishy taste’. I always assumed they simply had not given fish a fair chance. No. They simply must have been force fed sardines as a child. I love Mahimahi, Ahi (raw, not cooked), salmon, and a few others. I like the other types of fish. But I think I dislike sardines. Oh,  also dislike… gah. the name is eluding me.

Anyways. I just can’t handle the fishieness of sardines. I thought I would try them mixed in my rice, give it some sort of ‘substance’. And it was cheaper than the oysters I wanted. It just made me self-conscience that I smelled like a walking fish market, and my rice uneatable. Now I am sure there are a ton of people out there who love sardines, and being a novice to them, maybe I simply just missed the ‘right’ way to eat them. But if so, please do tell me, because after finally getting rid of the breath (lemon and mouthwash) and a long nap, I decided to re try them. And now I have fish breath again. And I still don’t like them. I want to like sardines. They are cheap. And a ‘protein’. And are cheap. And they store well.

I got the ones in oil (I have been talking about canned sardines here), but there were also some stored in mustard and some in water. Are these better? I am scared to try them, but I am also intrigued. People MUST like them, for there to be so many types of Sardines. Maybe it’s like spam. I know most of you are going ‘Eww. Spam. Who likes spam?’. Well, I do. And most of Hawaii does. Our shelves of spam probably triple your shelves of sardines. Assuming ur from a sardine loving area.

So, if you are one of those people who happen to like sardines, and believe I am simply eating them wrong, please let me know the ‘right’ way to eat them. Maybe dried? Or with salt? Pasta instead of rice? Also, leave a comment on what weird thing your community likes. Does your local grocery store have a consistent supply of frog legs (I’ve heard that they are popular in the midwest), escargot perhaps (I have tried and like them, don’t judge)?. Or are u a white bread and Corn-dog type person (Although I bet the ingredients in a corn dog arn’t much better than whats in spam)? Whatever you are, next time you are in the supermarket, check out the sardine isle, and maybe, just maybe, grab a can for yourself.

Leave a Reply

