To Baby Moonkin, Or Not To Baby Moonkin

So Blizz came out with the Baby Moonkin Hatchling. I know you have all seen it. Its huge googly eyes. Its cute little moonkin dance. Its pint sized bundle of cuteness. Oh, and its $10.00 price tag. Thats whats stopping me. I am a WoW pet collector, Taba currently has 77 of the vanity pets, all of which I collected in-game, except for the Core Hound Pup which you get with the authenticator. And Davinna is a Druid, with the potential to become a Moonkin (atm she is spec’ed Resto, but her dual spec is blank). But see, there is a line I drew in some virtual sand that said I would not cross when I started playing WoW, promising myself that I would not pay more than 15 bucks a month towards this addiction. It will take my time, but dammit, it will not take my money! (WoW is pretty cheap as far as addictions go, I mean just look at the price of cigarettes). So far, with the exception of buying the expansion and the authenticator, I have held up.

But… BUT! 50% of the purchase price goes to the Make-A-Wish Foundation. “For every Moonkin Hatchling purchased from November 29 through December 31, 2010, Blizzard Entertainment will donate 50% of the $10 purchase price to the Make-A-Wish Foundation®. For more information about the Make-A-Wish Foundation in the U.S. visit http://www.wish.org and outside the U.S. visit http://www.worldwish.org.” Blizz Store. That’s five bucks per Moonkin purchased, and I don’t care what people say, that’s pretty damn good. And this foundation is especially personal to me because I am a childhood cancer surviver, and while I never used the foundation, that it was there for those like me meant a lot. I have done some work fundraising for them before, and they took my high school business teachers son and family to Disney World, which meant the world to my teacher. So now I am in a conundrum. Do I get the pet and break that line in the sand, or do I hold to my principles and stick to in-game pets?

2 Responses to “To Baby Moonkin, Or Not To Baby Moonkin”

  1. You could always just donate to the foundation seperately… that way 100% of the money goes to it instead of just half 😮

  2. Continuity Says:

    The hardest enemy to beat is yourself, don’t give in

Leave a comment